Getting Ready For Miami!

Hello!

For those of you who do not know me well, my name is Suyeon and I’m writing my first “public” blog post at home in Charlotte, NC. It feels strange to write on my own blog for people to see publicly. I usually do not write to share because of various reasons including grammar (if you see me missing articles or add extra articles or any other awkwardness –please overlook them), wanting to keep private thoughts, maintenance, etc. But just like the new journey ahead of me, I’m ready to start this new opportunity to share my experience with all of you!

I started this blog as a way to share my service year as a Young Adult Volunteer (YAV) in Miami, Florida. The Young Adult Volunteer Program is a mission program from Presbyterian Church of U.S.A. (PCUSA) and as a YAV, I will be going to Miami this August to spend a whole year with other volunteers to serve the local community in the name of Christ, to live simply and faithfully, and to grow spiritually as a follower of Christ.

I’ve been thinking, reflecting, and praying about going as a YAV ever since my awesome mentors introduced me to the program. On one hand, I couldn’t wait to start this new chapter in life after graduation. It has been my dream to go, serve, and live simply as Jesus did during his time of ministry. God opened many doors after graduation and I thought it must be my time to go now. But, another side of me was filled with fears, uncertainty, and mixed feelings. About whether YAVP was the right path for me, leaving home and faith community that I trust and depend on, and many other thoughts that are too complicated to explain.

Nevertheless, I trust God to lead me in the right direction and I’m super excited for the prospect of all the things I will experience, witness, and do in the name of Jesus!

Even though I’m going on this journey alone (physically speaking), I need lots of prayers, interest, and support (financial and/or encouragement) and these are ways for you to join me in this journey. And, I promise to update this blog to share amazing works and experiences He allows me in this mission. So please be a part of in this mission of service with me!

**My prayer requests and ways to support are listed on the “Join Me” page. Click the tab above or the link here! Thank you :)

One thought on “Getting Ready For Miami!

Leave a Reply

